Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

First time building a printer with the ultimate hardware kit.

Posted by Treak 
First time building a printer with the ultimate hardware kit.
February 14, 2015 04:45PM
Recently i came across an amazing deal on a Stratasys SST printer. The problem is i have never had or used a 3d printer before and my coding experience is limited but still generally above par (or so id like to believe). I have about 2 years experience the Google Youtube 3D Printing University so my approximate knowledge of the situation is vast but unhelpful.

[i.imgur.com]

Problem is, they took out some of the juju that runs it. So i improvised and ordered a rambo 1.2a from amazon.

[imgur.com]

The stepper motors are 8 lead steppers with your standard 4 wires coming up for the top and the bottom coils. Even through i am able to put alot more juice in these steppers they wont be much of an upgrade from nema 17s with my setup. (if even possible)
[imgur.com]

Which leads me to my first problem my steppers dont move or even tighten when connected to the board. Which makes me beleive my 12 volt power supply is the problem (i dont have the confidence to hook up the powersupplys left in the machine)

[i.imgur.com]

The rambo board has repetir firmware and connected to repetir host on the computer on it (i somehow bricked it and figured outish how to re program it real fast). The next thing i want to connect is the heated chamber and lights and fans.

[i.imgur.com]