Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

calibrating motors not working

Posted by pixmanvegas 
calibrating motors not working
July 10, 2016 10:23PM
Prusa i3 from folger tech Clear plastic build.
Motors do not run at all.
I have tried to calibrate them by setting the pots on the board. I don't seem to be able to get a change in reading when turning pot at all. I am a novice to this and don't understand fully how the setting is supposed to be made.
for instance I am supposed to get a reading of 0.350V for the x motor but the reading I get is .0014V and it does not really change no matter how many turns of the pot I do. I have GUESSED that maybe it is a smaller turn, like a clock reading, where 11:00 position will give a different amount than a 1:00 reading but that doesn't seem to do anything. I really don't know. Do I just keep twisting and twisting and eventually the voltage will go up? I have already turned it around dozens of times in each direction.
None of the 4 motors move at all or try to move when using the software in manual, clicking the home button, or using the x,y, or z movement button.
I got the unit used, partially assembled. So I have no idea if the previous owner screwed something up.
I am thinking about replacing the motor control boards.
Also, the board does not seem to heat up. I have gotten the temp error to stop but it does not seem to heat.
I have attached the log in case that might help figure this out.
BTW I have the LCD and card reader attached with a fat 32 card in it and it seems to like it.
After the echoconfused smileyD card ok in the log the next line is "echo:Unknown command: " "
Any help is appreciated. I have been banging my head on this for a couple of weeks.

OH YES! in the "Printer Settings" of Repetier-Host V0.95F there is NO TAB labelled "Extruder" What's up with that?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 07/10/2016 10:25PM by pixmanvegas.
Attachments:
open | download - logfromprusa.rtf (8 KB)