Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

SSR Wiring with Heatbed and RAMPS

Posted by tKc 
tKc
SSR Wiring with Heatbed and RAMPS
January 14, 2016 03:57PM
Howdy,

I am in the midst of sizing up my first heat bed and power supply but wanted to run a few things by the experts first.

I am planning on running a 250W @12v custom silicone heat bed on a cheap RAMPS 1.4 board as this is my first build and RAMPS has the most amount of literature online out there for newbies (seriously, its helped me tones so far). I know other boards are better/would handle my heat bed easier but you don’t go for high end first try when you know you might blow something up smiling smiley.

The heat bed would run around 20A of current which is much more than RAMPS 1.4 can handle so I plan on using a SSR, DC-DC rated for 40A at least , looking for suggestions on good quality brands/ones to stay away from if anyone knows of any. Also, ill probably throw on a heat sink and fan on it as these tend to create a lot of heat.

My main question is if anyone has or knows of a clear diagram or video showing how to wire up a SSR to a RAMPS board, silicone heat bed and an ATX power supply. My paranoia is telling me I will undoubtedly wire something wrong!

As a side question, for this amount of current would 8 AWG wire suffice? If so, is this wire too large for the RAMPS or SSR ports?

Finally, does anything in Marlin (or anything in general with the printer) need to be changed when using an SSR?.

Thanks,
Taylor
Re: SSR Wiring with Heatbed and RAMPS
January 14, 2016 05:07PM
This one was recommended to me by mhackney

[www.auberins.com]

This one is known to work well. Be careful with any others because most of them use BJT transistors with a much higher on resistance 0.1 ohm (BJT) vs 0.006 ohm (FET).

I have my firmware set for bang-bang (on/off) control also, my understanding is that most SSRs don't like to be switched quickly so be careful if using PWM.
tKc
January 15, 2016 09:52AM