Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Homing failure motors jam

Posted by NeX 
NeX
Homing failure motors jam
September 29, 2018 12:20PM
So im new to this whole 3D printing thing and started to build my own printer which is a mendel type one to be exact a franzis mendel which i build according to a book i bought.
The printer is now completed atleast on the hardware side but i now started to install Marlin (im using the RAMPS 1.4 board with an Arduino Mega 2560 and A4998 stepper drivers) and as a control software for my pc im using repetier.
I at first tried to move the axes over the manual controll tab and adjusted the potentiometers so that every motor is moving its axis. X and Y are moving fine but the Z axis motors do after moving them produce some slight high frequency sounds. But the real problems are showing when i start to press the homing buttons on the manual control tab the X and Y motors start to sound like they´re jamming but only for like one sec and after that they start to move. But the Z axis motors dont stop with their jamming sounds they wont move ( I immediatly pressed the reset button on the board or atleast as fast as i could). At some point pressing the X axis homing button even moved the Y axis but this happened only once and I didn´t manage to replicate this behaviour. The printer was just set up and i have never printed anything with it its the first attempt to calibrate it. Tried to get it done using the books tips but i tried everything and it didnt work out neither have i found something on the forum or somewhere else to this specific problem so at this point I´m hoping to find help here.
I uploaded some clips to youtube where i at first move the axes with the manual control and then try the homing buttons i hope this helps.
Motors manually controlled
Homing jamming
If you need some further information or more visuals dont hesitate to ask.
Thanks in advance from a newbie.
Re: Homing failure motors jam
September 29, 2018 01:04PM