Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hey, I'm new here and I have a few questions

Posted by GofiLorD 
Hey, I'm new here and I have a few questions
December 29, 2012 09:16AM
Hi,
my name is Oren and I am new to the whole RepRap business. Although I already read many many things and saw many videos, I know that I am going to build a Mendel Prusa. The plastics I'm gonna get from a friend of mine who has a 3D printer already, and he is just going to print everything on this page:
[github.com]
Right?
In addition to that, I would like to know if my HPB design is good:
A 3mm thick aluminum square coated with Kapton tape and underneath it there is NiChrome wire... What do you say?
And finally, what do I need for the extruder besides the hot end, plastics and NEMA17?
Sorry for the terrible English and many questions smiling smiley
Thanks a lot smiling bouncing smiley
Re: Hey, I'm new here and I have a few questions
December 29, 2012 03:33PM
M8 threaded rods, 8mm smooth rods, maybe a small computer case fan. Lots of spare time

December 30, 2012 08:48AM
NelsonRap Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> M8 threaded rods, 8mm smooth rods, maybe a small
> computer case fan. Lots of spare time

Hi, thanks for the quick answer. Are you talking about what I need for the extruder besides the parts I mentioned?
And what about the other questions? smiling smiley
Re: Hey, I'm new here and I have a few questions
January 02, 2013 04:46PM
I'm pretty new to the game. I built a Prusa Mendel a little over a month ago. It was a fun process (sometimes frustrating). I was lucky enough to have a friend who had built several and he helped me out alot (over the phone). You mentioned that your friend has one. Did your friend build it?