Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

3d Artist looking to build 3d printer

Posted by mojon 
3d Artist looking to build 3d printer
January 27, 2013 06:52PM
I am looking to build a 3d printer to print my zbrush work. Zbrush can export in a format for 3d printers. I am a total noob at building a 3d printer, though I have built many computers and worked construction quite awhile and am familiar with most tools(saws, drills etc...). I really am overwhelmed that there are so many and I don't know which to build. I would like the height printable to be at least 12" high if possible and 6-8" x and y. Can anyone recommend a build? I was reading about the eventorbot. But I am not sure. Thanks
Re: 3d Artist looking to build 3d printer
January 28, 2013 02:43AM
Hi,

I like you was new at this 3D printing (also not an expert on 3D drawings) and was a bit scared on over taking this project without any experience.

However I built this incredible machine in 3 days (for a noob I was told this was quite fast) and its working great! I only have problems with the Z-axis due to the coupler pieces were el-cheapo made. But so far all that I've printed has printed well.

I have the Mix G1, and bought it here, I'm in no way owner or related to this business, but I was well received and they gave me great support during the building process.

It was also quite cheap ($499.00 for a 3D Printer). I'm very happy with this machine, the print size is 17x15x17 cm (LxWxH) so it may be quite small for what you're looking to print in height, but I'm pretty sure that most repraps are as easy to build and use as this one.

So in the end whichever seems most appropriate to you would be fine, don't be too scared about taking this project, since its quite easy!
Just make sure your printer settings use the right filament settings otherwise you may find yourself trying to melt ABS using PLA's settings and you'll end up disappointed smiling smiley