Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

A 50 micron Z resolution FDM printer for newbie?

Posted by markfarnell 
A 50 micron Z resolution FDM printer for newbie?
February 14, 2013 04:02AM
I am new to the scene of 3D printing, and I intend to print 3D parts that are subsequently used as machine parts (for model engineering), either directly, or as a master pattern, so I need a high resolution 3D printer. I know stereolithography printers can have a high quality, but they are expensive (both machine, and resin), so at the moment, I want to stick with FDM printers. Here are some requirements for the 3D printer:

- Have a Z-layer resolution of 50 microns
- be very reliable (don't easily break down, and safe to be left running overnight)
- have a relatively large print platform
- able to print in at least PLA and ABS
- mechanical parts (including stepper motor, transmission parts such as timing belts or gears) and electronic parts such as controller boards have ready replacement sources
- open source firmware and software

In this case, which printers I should look for? I have looked at MendelMax 2, but it is really expensive (USD 1400). Also what is the quality of Robo-3D? And how does Robo-3D compare to Reprap printers, in terms of build quality, and functionality? Robo-3D only costs USD 700 (fully assembled with heated bed for ABS), which is half of the MendelMax 2. But will the Robo-3D be able to satisfy the above requirements?

Is it really difficult to get the Z-layer resolution to 50 microns? What limits the Z-layer resolution? nozzle, or stepper motor, or both? Would the electromechanical parts of a modern reprap be able to do 50 microns given the right setting?

And if 50 microns is asking too much, then it is not necessary a deal-breaker and I can settle at 100 microns, but it could severely limit the quality of the product, which is used as master patterns for machine parts.