Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

PCB Heatbed Temperature

Posted by Axis 
PCB Heatbed Temperature
February 20, 2013 05:53PM
Hi,

I'm new to electronics.

I have a Prusa Mendel kit that came with a PC power supply, a PCB Heatbed MK2, a thermistor, an MDF plate, and ribbon wires.

Sandwiched together, from bottom to top, I put the MDF, a piece of cardboard, the thermistor, the PCB, and then a piece of glass. I attached 2 yellow and 2 black wires from the PSU to the 11A part of the RAMPS terminal, peeled wires from the ribbon and soldered them to the PCB, and set the bed temp in Pronterface to 110.

However, the highest temp it'll reach is 95, and it takes about 45 minutes to reach that temp. Anybody know what I might be doing wrong?

Thanks.
Attachments:
open | download - PSU-01.jpg (599.9 KB)
Re: PCB Heatbed Temperature
February 21, 2013 01:18AM
What gauge wire are you using between the ramps and the PCB. You need a decent gauge for the amps being sent here. I'd say 18 or larger.
February 21, 2013 10:57AM
Measure the voltage at the PSU. If it significantly less than 12V you may need a dummy load on the 5V.

Measure the voltage across the bed terminals. If it significantly less you need thicker wires. I use all the black and yellow wires from an ATX PSU. Cheap ones skimp on the wire gauge and 2 is nowhere near enough for 10A.

[www.hydraraptor.blogspot.com]
February 24, 2013 03:36AM
I dunno what gauge the ribbon wires were. There's no numbers printed on it, and the website that sold them didn't say. But I bought some 18 gauge wire, and it seems to work okay now.

Thanks.
April 06, 2013 06:54AM
Hi,