Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

changeable print head

Posted by Smf_Ogre 
changeable print head
May 23, 2007 12:56PM
I was wondering if anyone has thought about changable print heads similar to old style pen plotters? That would make multiple materials possible.
Re: changeable print head
May 23, 2007 01:40PM
I'm not sure what you mean by this. I've never seen an old pen plotter up close. Presumably you mean something like what I, at least, have been thinking about: an area full of different heads, that the plotter arm/head-holder/meta-head could move along and drop/pickup heads from?

This does strike me as (one of) the next logical step(s). With a dedicated head area, some kind of head holder (or just a template of where to place the heads), a well-designed coupling system, and maybe (but not necessarily) an additional controller axis, it seems possible to change materials/techniques reliably. I'm no engineer though, so I'd love to hear the experts' thoughts on this. I've no doubt they've considered it already, if not firmly planned it for some point further down the line smiling smiley
May 23, 2007 01:56PM
"Presumably you mean something like what I, at least, have been thinking about: an area full of different heads, that the plotter arm/head-holder/meta-head could move along and drop/pickup heads from? "

yes its just like that.

The reason I ask is I am a mechanical engineering major at UTA who works in the Material Science Department and I am making this printer for composite ceramics. So I was just wondering if anyone had started this or if I need to start from scratch.
May 23, 2007 02:53PM
There has at least been some talk of using ceramics, and much talk of different materials (including solder, chocolate, etc.), print heads, nozzle sizes, material extrusion rates, etc.