Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

QuadRap

Posted by shauki 
QuadRap
May 21, 2013 02:40PM
Hello dear RepRapers!
I am new to building 3D printers, but looks like going to introduce something new:
The frame, just started blogging [quadrap-3d-printer.blogspot.de]
Very optimistic to introduce soon a multicolor extruder compatible with RAMPS 1.4
Hope to be interesting and gather warnings from experts before falling into mud winking smiley
Shauki
Re: QuadRap
May 21, 2013 04:02PM
I think you are going to get a lot of unintended flexing of that small aluminum tubing over that length.

Also, I've read that it's hard to get the steppers up to a high enough speed for threaded rod instead of using a belt to get any kind of meaningful print speed.

Good luck though, and keep us posted.
Re: flexing & speed
May 22, 2013 03:19AM
Two factors I count on regarding flexing:

1) The bearing setup allows easy adjusting of the gap

2) Heavy flex can take place in three beams (horizontal guides) of total 13 used in the structure. The beams are compatible and can be swapped: the warn two horisontal guides can be replaced with the horizontal upper ties. When all four are warn out, then all four can be used for the legs and the legs come into the horizontal structure elements, then the ones in the bottom of the frame and so on.

I will test the fact of flexing by letting the head scan the complete printable volume several times. (By "printing" a huge cube without filament).

Regarding speed, as far as I saw, the stepper driver is being often used with resolution of 1/16 step and it is mainly used for the Z axis. I shall use a full step for the horizontal directions and hope the printing speed will then be acceptable.

Thanks!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/22/2013 03:19AM by shauki.
May 22, 2013 08:46AM
I'm not talking about permanent flexing. The mass and movement of your system will cause major inaccuracies at your hotend tip.