Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

object not staying on bed

Posted by printer_man58 
object not staying on bed
December 04, 2013 03:29PM
I am fairly new to 3d printing and my objects keep lifting off the heat bed. I have the temperature set on 75 degrees with aluminum tape that I sprayed with hairspray. After about 20 minutes the extruder is about to put on the next layer and it just picks up the object. Does anyone know how to fix this?
Re: object not staying on bed
December 04, 2013 04:14PM
Are you printing with PLA or ABS (I presume PLA ?)

How tall are the objects when they detach from the bed, i.e 20 minutes could be 100 layers high?

What printer are you using, does the bed move or just the XY print head (or XYZ head)

This subject has been done over and over again on the forum.
Causes for non-sticking are numerous and it will depend on your setup before people could give you a educated response
December 04, 2013 05:50PM
I am printing with PLA and i am using a mendelmax 1.5. It takes about 15 to 20 minutes for it to come off. Also the bed moves.
December 04, 2013 06:02PM
Glass (as in cheap window glass) is the most common bed material for many of these printers. It's smooth / flat / cheap and heat proof. Not all hair spray is created equal. You need some that's made to hold down hair during a hurricane.
December 04, 2013 06:13PM
@printer_man58

OK. I have a MendelMax 1.5.

With PLA, I use Kapton tape on glass for PLA and its OK, but it depends on what you are trying to print.

Anything with a large surface area e.g. a cube should be OK, however I've found problems printing hollow tubes, end on, as this isn't enough surface area of the end of the tube to cope with the mass of the model as the print gets taller.

Depending on what slicer you are using, you could turn on a "brim" or "raft" or you just add some sort of support material to your model before you print it, then cut of snap the material off afterwards