Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Converting a Seiko D-TRAN XM 5000 Cartesian into a RepRap.

Posted by Christopher 
Converting a Seiko D-TRAN XM 5000 Cartesian into a RepRap.
September 23, 2009 10:47PM
Most of you who linger in IRC have probably seen me brandishing this around lately.

My name is Christopher Thomas, and I am a student at Tarrant County College, Fort Worth, Texas currently majoring in Robotics and Automation. I have been given the privilege to use our Seiko D-Tran XM 5000 Cartesian Robot however I want. It started as just a simple PLC controlled project for my class, but I soon found that with a micro-controller and some simple materials, I could make it do so much more than Pick and Place...

Eventually I stumbled upon RepRap after looking for a micro-controller that is robust enough and developed enough to give me my desired results. (ie... Sanguino). As of today I have placed an order for 3-RepRap Motherboards and 6-Extruder Controllers (hopefully to be used in place of the Stepper Drivers, of which the PCBs were sold out.) I'm doing everything from parts to demonstrate to the classes that SMT is achievable with limited tools and is, at times, much easier and faster than doing the typical through-hole technique currently taught in schools.