Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Prusa I3 questions/advice/build (?)

Posted by mac hacker 
Prusa I3 questions/advice/build (?)
December 28, 2013 08:26PM
Hey everyone, I am very new to repraps, but I have been printing stuff for a while at a local hacker lab near where I live. I am fascinated by 3d printing and I was hoping to have a 3d printer be my next big project that I work on. I have poked around the different models on reprap.org and I really like the prusa I3 in its appearance and it also looks relatively easy to build. Does anyone have any tips of where I should look to prepare to build this printer? my budget is around $500 for everything and I am hoping someone can point me in the right direction for a user friendly kit or at least a DETAILED build guide online. I found the i3x kit on diy tech shop ( [shop.diytechshop.com] ) and I am wondering if anyone has any experience with this kit. Thanks a lot for helping a n00b! grinning smiley
Re: Prusa I3 questions/advice/build (?)
December 29, 2013 12:03PM
There are a lot of kits out there. I would suggest that a budget of $500 to $600 is a pretty good range to shop in. It's a "you get what you pay for" on some of these. You need to look pretty carefully at the small details on the kit to figure out exactly what they did or did not put into it. You might want to look at some of the threads about the DIy Tech Shop kit before buying one.
December 29, 2013 03:41PM
Okay, that is helpful. What should I look for? Should I look for specific brands of components? Also does anyone have any experience in building the I3 that can give some advice/tips? thanks a lot!
December 29, 2013 05:29PM
A lot of us have built i3's from kits. The general advice is always "buy what I bought, it worked for me" or "I've never ever gotten mine working at all". The problem is that the "never got it working" people don't tend to hang around (why would they?). Very few people have experience with multiple kits.