Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

AutoTune Hotend and Bed Question. Ramps 1.4

Posted by Janski 
AutoTune Hotend and Bed Question. Ramps 1.4
February 25, 2014 02:02PM
Hey Guys,

I just recently learned about autotuning. Newbie here.

From Pronterface. M303 E0 S230 C5 to get the Kp Ki Kd Values.

Question 1: I assume it is the last one or do I average out the values that Pronterface spits out?

Question 2: Do i have to autotune the heated bed as well? the bed has a hard time reaching 110C and I assume this has to do with the autotune function. What is the code I would have to run if the bed is attached to D10 on Ramps 1.4 board?

Please advisesmiling smiley

Sincerely,

Janski
Re: AutoTune Hotend and Bed Question. Ramps 1.4
February 25, 2014 03:43PM
You should enter the last values reported into your firmware. As far as the bed is concerned, most people just leave it a bang-bang control for which tuning is not really necessary. If you have PID enabled for the bed, I guess it could benefit from a tuning, although I wouldn't know how you'd do it.
February 25, 2014 04:34PM
My Ord Bot bed is set up in Marlin with just on/off control or so called bang-bang. It is full on if the temp is under the set point.
I did about 3 PID tunes on the extruder and took an average of the values.
February 26, 2014 01:22AM
Just use the last set of autotune values. They have excessive precision compared to the process--you probably couldn't notice a difference if you varied them from the autotune values by 10%.

'M303 E-1' would autotune the bed, if your Marlin is configured with #define PIDTEMPBED.

See [reprap.org] for some details.
March 02, 2014 11:04AM
Hey Dave3d,

I just bought a 12 v 40w Professional Strain Reflief Heater for 3d Printers (5mm OD). Software is still running on the old Kp Ki Kd setting from the old RD59 resistor.

When i try to auto tune this heater here is what I get:

echotongue sticking out smileyID settings:
echo:   M301 P100.84 I18.27 D139.12