Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

polymer in india

Posted by josey.mathew 
polymer in india
July 03, 2007 11:04AM
Hi

I am an engineering student frm India. I want to build a reprap. But the trouble is that I am not getting the polymer(polycaprolactone) anywhere. Is there any other alternative polymer that can be used ?
Or can poycaprolactone be prepared in a lab ??
Is there a dealer with international service ? BUT this is the last option that I would like to try as the cost converted to Indian Rupees is very high.

Thanks a lot for your help.
Re: polymer in india
July 03, 2007 12:40PM
You can get polycaprolactone from you local Solvay agent.

If you are looking for an alternative plastic that behaves somewhat like polycaprolactone you might want to try PVC. The melting points of the two are about the same.

Keep in mind that I have not tried PVC. I've just looked at the data sheets.
July 03, 2007 09:09PM
Thanks a lot for the advice on PVC I will look it up
July 04, 2007 04:00AM
Hi
i checked uped in wiki abt PVC it has a melting point of > 200C now hw can I use it ? I would have to look for better things for the extruder.
July 04, 2007 09:12AM
After reading your post I surveyed the literature and found a bunch of references giving a PVC melting point of about 212C. On the other hand I've found others which specified about 80C like this one...

[www.dynalabcorp.com]

and this one.

[www.polymerweb.com]

[www.plasticsusa.com]

[www.dynalabcorp.com]

I allow that I am quite baffled by this. I know as a practical matter that you don't dare use PVC piping for plumbing hot water lines in buildings, a restriction that argues for a low melting point or at least a low deflection temperature for PVC.
PVC melting point
July 04, 2007 01:25PM
Forrest,
I don't know if this adds anything but I have a piece of electrical sleeving which is marked "PVC TUBING 105 C". It is "springy" when cold. In boiling water it becomes "floppy" but does not melt.