Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

End stops won't work. X moves one direction

Posted by kevbme 
End stops won't work. X moves one direction
April 25, 2014 11:50AM
I'm new to 3d printing. I have built a RepRap Prusa Mendel i2 with a Sanguinololu rev. 1.3a Atmega 1284P and StepStick drivers.I have Sprinter firmware uploaded and am using Pronterface.
My problems are:

X axis only moves in the + direction when i click + or - movements.

When I click the home button for any axis, the movement doesn't stop when endstop is triggered.

I have searched all over the web for solutions. None of which gave me any success. I have tried several combinations of inverting endstops, fuse settings and rewiring NO and NC on stops. Some combinations would give me the same results, others would make the printer stop working completely.

SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME TURN THIS EXPENSIVE PAPERWEIGHT INTO A FUNCTIONING 3D PRINTER!!!!!
Re: End stops won't work. X moves one direction
April 25, 2014 12:26PM
Does M119 report reasonable changes to your endstops?

Is the 'DIR' pin of the X stepstick getting the proper signals? If not, check the output from the atmega per [reprap.org]
April 25, 2014 12:36PM
m119 shows x_min:L y_min:L z_min:L weather i'm triggering the stops or not

how do i check that?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/25/2014 12:38PM by kevbme.
April 25, 2014 02:16PM
If M119 is insensitive to whether or not the endstops are triggered, then the firmware isn't getting the message somehow. If you check out the associated pins with a multimeter, you could see if an electrical signal is getting to the pins. Electrically they should toggle between +5V and 0 when the switch toggles.

Doublecheck what you are using with [reprap.org]

Also, you might check if your firmware is using its internal pullups if needed. Sprinter looks like #define ENDSTOPPULLUPS in Configuration.h
April 25, 2014 04:10PM