Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

A new Reprap printer and my blog about it

Posted by drmaestro 
A new Reprap printer and my blog about it
May 11, 2014 08:00PM
Hello,

I wanted to introduce myself and my blog about 3d printing. I am very enthousiastic about all things 3D and wanted to buy a printer for a long time. There are a lot of open sourced or commercial models around but I wanted to buy one form a local vendor, as I thought I'd need lots of technical support. I opted in buying a kit instead of a competed model, as I read that's a better way to learn the inner workings of the printer. The vendors I bought the kit from have recently finalized their design and started producing it. I think I have bought their second kit. There wasn't an included manual on how to construct the printer, so I'll be trying to build it with the support I'll recieve from the designers.The problem is that I am complete newbie in this kind of DIY project and I am sure everyone will agree that a 3D printer isn't the ideal kind of project for a first timer. I have decided to document my adeventures (and more probably my misadventures) in a blog. There is very little content in there yet but I am sure it would be beneficial to other newbies, so I'd like to give the link to my blog for those of you who'd be interested:

[www.3dprinterblog.org]

I am open to all kinds of suggestions and critics (and also help!).

Thank you very much....
Re: A new Reprap printer and my blog about it
May 11, 2014 08:48PM
Your confusion on the hardware names between bolts and screws needs a bit of clarification.

This is a machine screw, which is tapped to take a nut (versus a self-tapping wood or sheet metal screw that makes it's own threads as it is screwed in):

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Screw#Differentiation_between_bolt_and_screw

You might find this drawing of various threaded fastener types useful for your explanation: