Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Extruder stops pulling PLA in...

Posted by jonkeegan 
Extruder stops pulling PLA in...
June 10, 2014 03:19PM
Hey everyone....

So I've solved so many problems on my Prusa Mendel IT2, but I have one last remaining problem.

The PLA gets pulled in and starts extruding successfully, but then after a few minutes, it stops moving. I'm using a Budaschozzle .35mm and Greg;s Accessible hinged extruder. Seems like it has a good grip, and pulls very hard, but after the first two or so layers, it gets jammed up it seems. Using 3mm PLA, which is what my Budaschozzle is currently set up for. Temperature is set to 185c, and it easily maintains that.

Looked through the forums quite a bit, but couldn't find anything exactly like this.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

Jon Keegan
Re: Extruder stops pulling PLA in...
June 10, 2014 03:33PM
Hi Jonkeegan

Im new to this like a couple of months and had lots of problems myself big learning curve winking smiley Im running mine at 190 at the mo seems to be printing fine just got the odd peel prob at the min and my bed at 70. Also you may wanna check your extruder settings could be your extruding too much or too little, hope this may help ya winking smiley
June 15, 2014 10:50PM
Is your motor getting really hot? If so it may be softening the filament and loosing grip. Is the drive still turning when it's not pushing the filament. If it is too hot you can turn down the motor current of the extruder drive and see how long it runs that way.
June 16, 2014 08:40AM
On my E3D I print PLA at 240, no lower or jams are eminent. Each nozzle is different, even within the same brand and model. My original Solidoodle hotend printed PLA at 162C.
Can you tell us more about the jamming? Does the extruder skip gears? Is it stripping the filament? Can we see some pictures of the jams?