Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Building RepRap from Dimension BST Printed Parts

Posted by Trevor 
Building RepRap from Dimension BST Printed Parts
April 16, 2010 10:41AM
Edit: You can now follow my progress at: http://trevorio.tumblr.com/

Hello,

I'm a student in Mechatronics at South Central College in Minnesota. I've been interested in rapid prototyping for a while now.
I've build a fab@home printer, but I wasn't impressed with the print quality, nor the dead community. I came upon the RepRap project
and instantly fell in love. However I had no (affordable) way of sourcing rp parts and I put the RepRap project on the backburner
until I could come up with $900+ for a makerbot + materials. That is, until I made a little discovery in the machine shop at my school:

The poor guy was all alone in a corner not being used by anybody. The dimension bst printer was supposed to be used by
the students in the drafting class, but nobody was taking the class. I knew the instructor of the class and told him about the RepRap
project. I asked if I could use the printer. He basically told me that no one ever uses the machine and that I could go crazy with it.

Machine specs here
Parts are being printed from white ABS. I've printed off 3 of 5 pallets of parts, and I'll be picking up a 4th in about an hour.
The parts are of impressive quality in my opinion. I still have to keep telling myself that it's not magic when I go pick up a set of parts.

I've taken some photos and video, I'll start up a blog to document the process Either later today or tomorrow morning.
I'll host videos of the printing, and build progress. I'm almost done with my set, and since it took about 4~5 days to do I'm
considering printing a second set to sell/trade so that I can get the mechanical/electronic parts to complete a RepRap Mendel.

If you have any questions feel free to ask.

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 04/17/2010 11:53AM by Trevor.