Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

[Buildlog] is it possible to make a prusa i3 for less than 250$ ?

Posted by Tobo27 
[Buildlog] is it possible to make a prusa i3 for less than 250$ ?
January 17, 2015 04:10PM
and moreover: is it worth it?

Hi all! I'm Tobo27 and this is my first post and topic in this forum! Let me explain you what is going on!

Some years ago, by surfing the web, I discovered the 3d printers world, I was amazed. But unfortunately at the time it was quite expensive to buy the components, and in order to build a Prusa mendel, I needed to find someone who already had a 3d printer and pay him to print the parts, furthermore there was just a small and expensive market also for the steppers, extruders ecc.

Today things are different, I could surf for 10 minutes and buy many different kits for a prusa, even spending less than 400$, this is awesome! But I'm a student, I have to save money.
By the years I purchased many things from china, mainly electronic stuff: Arduinos, LCDs, ICs ecc, saving a lot of money and with a decent quality. I decided to search in this site I usually buy things from (I don't know if I can link it, so I will not), in order to see if buying the components separately would reduce the total price.
This site has a feedback system, I didn't look for the lowest price only, but for the lowest price from the sellers with best feedbacks.

167$ is the final price for almost everything except frame and rods eye popping smiley cool smiley just 167$ for steppers, bearings, Ramps, Arduino, Plastic parts, heated bed ecc ecc. (if you want I can list all the stuff and prices) 83$ under my budget!
I may have saved too much for the extruder....way too much, and I'm worried because it was 7$ for a J-head like extruder thumbs downhot smiley
But if it doesn't work I will buy a better one without wasting too much money (I'm also trying to figure out how to build one).

In my mind, my prusa will have a wood frame like this: