Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help needed to build a RepRap printer. Which one to build? Where to buy?

Posted by sasaidli 
Help needed to build a RepRap printer. Which one to build? Where to buy?
March 04, 2015 05:08AM
Ladies and Gentlemen,

I am a newbie to 3d printers. I was searching around to buy one for myself to learn the basics of this awesome technlogy and came across RepRap Project. I need help finding a printer, both where to buy, and which one to buy, since I am a beginner.

Your help is greatly appreciated. Thank you!
Re: Help needed to build a RepRap printer. Which one to build? Where to buy?
March 04, 2015 05:34AM
Well I myself am looking at the Prusa i3v by makerfarm. It offers greatly increased stability over the Prusa i3 and though it is about twice as much, at least the 12" i3v is. But of course that is a huge build platform, I have done a bit of research, and Im pretty sure it is one of the best deals for the value, print quality, print size, and all around versatility that is currently available, However if I'm wrong, I would love to know some that are comparable, or even better. I would look into it if I were you. Good luck, and let me know if you find a good one that suits your needs and isnt the Prusa i3v!
March 04, 2015 05:55AM
Thank you, Eric.
Where should I buy one of them? I also am looking at the Prusa i3 module so far, but what is the difference between Mendel prusa i3 and prusa i3? How hard is it to build a printer? As a beginner, do you think I will be able to build it myself with no experience in 3d Printing?
March 04, 2015 07:05AM
You can buy a kit, Makerfarm's Prusa I3V can be recommanded. It's based in USA, and you can order on their website, google it. Please don't buy a cheap kit or you will learn under maximal pain. grinning smiley To find a good kit depends of your location. Which area are you from ?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/04/2015 07:06AM by Zavashier.