Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Geeetech Prusa i3 Autobed Level

Posted by ZachyDaddy 
Geeetech Prusa i3 Autobed Level
March 10, 2015 09:27PM
I'm new to 3d printers, but I have been doing research for the last few weeks, and I am really impressed by the Prusa i3. I also like this geeetech model as it's cheap and comes with ramps 1.4 and mega 2560, the mk8 extruder, and supports printing with flexible PLA. One thing I would like to do is add an autobed level to it, and I've seen a few kits for other Prusa i3 models, and I'm wondering what I need to check as far as compatibility to make sure that they will be compatible with the geeetech version.

Here is the specific model I'm looking at. [www.geeetech.com]
Re: Geeetech Prusa i3 Autobed Level
March 11, 2015 04:44AM
I don't own that build but I've added a microswitch and servo probe to my prusa i3. You'll probably need a way to attach the probe, so you'll need to adapt or download an extruder or hotend holder. In the firmware you'll need to enable auto bed levelling. The are two types, three point autobed levelling and autobed levelling grid. I use the latter. It's also highly recommended to have an lcd to set the offset between the z height of probe vs nozzle.
March 12, 2015 11:32AM
forget auto bed level. It s gimmick that wont serve your print quality.

The easy way often has consequences ....never more apparent then here
March 12, 2015 03:12PM
bigfilsing,

I assume you are saying that based on you own experiences, but I can say that mine is the complete opposite.
March 12, 2015 10:39PM
ggherbaz
bigfilsing,

I assume you are saying that based on you own experiences, but I can say that mine is the complete opposite.

Of course and if it works for you great.