Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Advices to build my first 3D printer - Choosing the model

Posted by Richard PV 
Advices to build my first 3D printer - Choosing the model
July 08, 2015 09:48PM
Hi everybody,

I'm new to building and using 3d printers, I have knowledge about electronics, not so much since I'm not en Electronic Engineer (I'm actually a Telecommunications Eng.) but I have taken many courses related to Electronics at my college. I'm pretty sure that with some help I can do it.

First, I need to decide the model of 3D printer to build, I was thinking between a Prusa i3 and P3Steel, since the P3Steel has stronger frame. But now I really prefer to start using a frame made of MDF or a material easy to work with. Maybe my best option would be starting with Box Style Frame, made of wood.
the [reprap.org]
Or may be the Alternate Box frame
[reprap.org]

However I'd really prefer one that has a frame easy to build. For example I like the frame that I found here (The post is in Spanish, just look at the links inside)
[spainlabs.com]
About that I like that model because I think it's easy to do, looks good and apparently the result is enough good. Also has the electronics parts on the top.
Is it this the Alternate Box Frame? [www.reprap.org]

Best Regards,

Please help me to choose a good model
Re: Advices to build my first 3D printer - Choosing the model
July 09, 2015 12:29AM
Really should look at the smartrap core on thingiverse.
July 09, 2015 09:03AM
I suggest reading this before you decide what to buy/build. It explains a lot of the compromises made to push the price of printers down and the real cost of those compromises.
July 09, 2015 01:11PM
Hey dentist... Why did you go with a moving Y bed rather than a moving z bed aka hbot or corexy? I am at this juncture where I must make the same decision and havent had luck in finding pros cons of each that sway me either way...