Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Heated Bed Causes Melzi to Restart

Posted by fatalelieberi 
Heated Bed Causes Melzi to Restart
July 23, 2015 12:53AM
Hello,

Right now I have a problem with my heated bed. Every time I turn on the heated bed, either printing or starting it manually, it always causes my Melzi board to restart. It is really weird because I have been printing for about 2 months and there wasn't any problem. When I removed the heated bed, it went well, but of course I couldn't print because I am printing in ABS that needs heated bed. Later, I loaded the bed terminal on the board with 1K resistor to see if it would cause the board to restart again, but it didn't. The board supplied the resistor with 12V 0.01A just fine.

I suspect that the MOSFET is faulty and it causes the IO pin in the microcontroller to be short circuited each time it is activated. Does this mean that I have to change the bed MOSFET? Should I also replace the microcontroller? Do you guys have any suggestion?

Thanks.
Re: Heated Bed Causes Melzi to Restart
July 27, 2015 12:46PM
A 1K resistor is way to high to test with for a heated bed. They have resitances in single digit ohms. Figure out the resistance for your bed (might not be able to measure it if your bed is defective) and try a resistor closer to that size. I have replaced the MOSFET on one of my RAMPS.
July 28, 2015 01:25AM
Hi Appdev,

Thanks for your reply. I think the heated bed is just fine. I measure the resistance between the terminals and it comes up with 1.3 Ohm. I also test the bed directly to the 12V power supply and it can heat just fine. I think I will test again the board with a resistor close that resistance and see what it will do.
July 28, 2015 04:10AM