Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New Assembly, stuck on power supply

Posted by Outie 
New Assembly, stuck on power supply
September 27, 2015 03:42PM
I am brand new to 3d printing and there is no one around me that can help so I bought this kit as a shot in the dark to play around. I come from an electrical engineering background.

Kit: HE3D Delta

The kit is a terrible! the instructions are missing many steps, out of order, blurry, different model was shown in the "how to" than what I bought, I have been putting this thing together mostly from a finished picture and kinda filling in the blanks on how I think it goes. I ran into a problem. I have been looking through threads and topics here and found two different pictures on how to wire the motherboard, power supply, fans.

Attached is my project. What goes in the RED? Why is there a power plug (YELLOW)? Do I solder the extruder fan into the GREEN? Where do I hook up the fan that is cooling the filament advance motor?

Edit: My cooling fans are 12vdc and power supply 24vdc

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 09/27/2015 04:05PM by Outie.
Attachments:
open | download - NCM_0626.JPG (548 KB)
Re: New Assembly, stuck on power supply
September 28, 2015 12:03AM
You have a generic Ramps 1.4. The extruder fan is hooked up to D9 if you are running single extruders, or for constant power can be hooked up to a straight 12v rail. You can also hook it up to the GREEN in the picture. The RED is your main input. Put your power supply wires here. Notice ramps boards have two separate channels of power, hence four connectors, two Positive, two ground. Finally, the plug labeled by yellow us left unplugged. The power to the Arduino is fed through the Ramps. I have attached the diagram of a Ramps to aid you in power wiring. Also check for bad soldering underneath your boards before they short anything out.

Prusa i3 Rework - Ramps 1.4 - E3d Lite6 - Full Graphic LCD Controller
Attachments: