Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Beginner's questions

Posted by Diabl0 
Beginner's questions
October 21, 2015 05:53PM
Hi!

I'm completely new to this topic, but me and my friends would like to start building a 3D printer completely from scratch.
I would like to ask you, if there is any universal software I can use to make my hypothetical printer work? I mean every model differs in many ways: different gearing, different ways of moving individual parts. How does the software work and how does the printer know how many times to rotate the stepper motor to move the bed by 10mm or raise the extruder by 5mm?

Please, if my question is too stupid, feel free to delete this topic.
Re: Beginner's questions
October 21, 2015 06:19PM
The firmware and controller boards for 3D printers are easily configurable for almost anything you want to do. That said, if you want to do something relatively exotic, such as run 4 extruders, you should look for a controller board that's designed to handle that many extruders plus the motion control motors. The most popular firmware that runs on the cheapest controller board (Arduino/RAMPS) hardware is called Marlin, but there are others. If you want a more modern board with more processing power (better for running delta printers, etc.) get a 32 bit board such as the Duet or SmoothieBoard. The Arduino type board require you to recompile firmware when you make changes to the machine's operating parameters. SmoothieBoard (and probably Duet) store all operating parameters in a text file that can be edited easily. No recompiling the firmware is required- just edit the text file and reboot the board.