Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Large Scale RepRap

Posted by Demented Chihuahua 
Large Scale RepRap
November 15, 2007 01:07AM
Hi all,

Sorry for the new thread to follow but it really is rather a different one than previous ones talking about large scale repraps.

This post needs a little history so...I am a student at Oregon Institute of Technology. I found the RepRap project, decided to get involved, started building a RepRap, thought my school should get into the action, suggested to our CAD/CAM professor that they pick up the RepRap, and am negotiating for them to pay for it and give me credit. Whatever the outcome, OIT will have at least one RepRap. In the course of all this I got a few classmates interested in the idea and it was tossed out that we make a large scale RepRap as a manufacturing project in the Spring term.

So that is exactly what we are looking at doing. We want to build a 1 cubic meter print area RepRap. Although, I don't thing it would actually be a REPlicating RAPid prototyper at that point...feh.

I would like ideas and feedback on this "possible" project. So far I am really leaning toward Viktor's setup minus the magnetic joints as it offers a frame that we can easily weld out of common metal available to us for cheap. This begs the question of kinematics for the software and such but I figure that'll be getting worked out as time goes on. What about stepper requirements? We have some pretty beefy ones that we just scavanged out of some old Universal Stereoplotter machines that look like they could move quite a bit of weight.

Anyway, sorry for the long post. I would just like feedback, ideas, suggestions, warnings, etc., from those who know more than me...everyone!

Demented
VDX
Re: Large Scale RepRap
November 15, 2007 01:40AM
Hi Demented,

... with a tripod setup you can scale up unlimited and use best Kardan-joints or self-made crossed ball-bearing-hinges instead of the magnetic spheres.