Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Plastic Parts Dimensions?

Posted by azredhawk44 
Plastic Parts Dimensions?
November 12, 2010 08:15PM
I'm trying to find the dimensions for the plastic parts to build a Mendel.

For example, I have found the repository for .aoi files. I have downloaded and installed Art of Illusion and opened "frame-vertex_6off.aoi".

However, I'm unable to determine dimensions of pieces, locations of holes and angles using Art of Illusion.

I don't want to pay what people are charging for Mendel plastic parts. (Though I won't be opposed to CHARGING people the current rate for Mendel parts once I have a functional Mendel!) I intend to make my initial parts out of wood, since I have a decent wood shop out back. It will cost me time... but that will keep me out of trouble. :-)

Where can I find the dimensions for the various plastic parts for Mendel, so I can begin hand-fabrication from wood?

ETA: About my background:

I'm a database administrator and sometimes-software-developer in Arizona, predominantly knowledgeable with Microsoft products but originally cut my teeth on programming with Linux/LAMP platforms. I've had good luck repairing and monkeying with various DC electronics products around the home my whole life, and have played with RC models in the past though its been a while. The Arduino concept has intrigued me recently and having a Mendel/RepRap/Fabricator is a waypoint on my way to building some robotic toys that I'd like to give a try.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/12/2010 08:21PM by azredhawk44.
Re: Plastic Parts Dimensions?
November 12, 2010 08:23PM
http://reprap.org/wiki/Mendel/Drawings
has some drawings.

but, as per the note here:
http://reprap.org/wiki/Wooden_Mendel:

You should really build a http://reprap.org/wiki/WolfStrap out of wood, rather than a wooden mendel. (Mendel is optimized to be printed, not tablesawed. (Table sawn?))smileys with beer

-Sebastien, RepRap.org library gnome.