Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

building my first printer, a few questions.

Posted by Overlord_Laharl 
building my first printer, a few questions.
July 03, 2016 10:14PM
im looking to build myself a printer and i dont want to use a kit as it takes half the fun out of of DIYing.
first a little about me.
im a avid DIYer and i have ZERO engenering experience, when i need to print i trek on down to the library, however their time limit severely limits me on what i can print.
as a renter im limited in what tools i can use, my go to tool are a soldering iron, a dremel 3000, a drill with standard SAE bits.
im not confident with my iron at all and am still a beginner with it.

im set on a prusa i3 or a i3 variant
and i want to use 2020 extrusions

my first question
i want to build it with 2020 extrusions like the ones on robot digg [www.robotdigg.com]
the problem is i cant read the page of the original specs they used so i dont know if i should use a part list for a box or sheet frame.
1) what parts would i need in addition to the 2020 extrusions?
2) are there any benefits of using belts instead of using linear steppers, im talking about somthing like this [www.robotdigg.com]

my second set of questions
3) has anybody had any issues with cheap mechanical parts off ebay/ali express, mainly bearings, nema motors and the controller boards for said motors?
4) has anybody had any issues with the inland mega 2560 with the ramps on ebay/aliexpress
5) should i use motor dampeners or would that be unnecessary

my third set of questions
6) what consumables would i need for maintanence of the printer? mainly things like oils, greases extra bearings, rods, printed parts
7) after i build the printer should i keep a complete set of replacement printed parts on hand for repairs.
Re: building my first printer, a few questions.
July 03, 2016 11:16PM
First 3d Printer?

What is wrong with a kit?

You can hack around using kitchen utensils
and cut thru the kitchen table?