Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Cast tooling plate print bed flatness

Cast tooling plate print bed flatness
July 31, 2016 08:27PM
I have been advocating cast tooling plate for a couple years because it is flat and thermally conductive. For anyone who doubts the flatness and suitability of cast aluminum for a 3D printer bed, here is a print I am running right now- 85 Nerdy Derby wheels all printing in one go on an unheated cast tooling plate bed with a layer of kapton tape and blue painter's tape, no glass. A couple of the wheels are literally printing on top of the leveling screws (probably can't do that with ABS) and some are literally at the edge of the plate (at the back of the photo). It looks like I might be able to fit 5 more wheels on the plate, so maybe the next run will have 90 wheels.

The bed plate is 12.5" x 12" x 1/4" (317 x 305 x 6.35 mm), and the wheels are 32 mm dia., spaced 33 mm center to center.

Yes, I know the wheels won't be "balanced".

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
Re: Cast tooling plate print bed flatness
July 31, 2016 10:50PM
I, too can vouch for the flatness of tooling plates. I use a 16 inch diameter and quarter inch plate.
August 01, 2016 05:44AM
I have to agree with the use of mic 6 tooling plate. I have replaced the 12 inch piece of glass on a delta printer with the mic 6 aluminum and am not sorry.
August 01, 2016 11:15AM
Tooling Plate works well, I use a recycled piece that it 13x13"
August 03, 2016 12:29AM
85 pieces finished...

August 03, 2016 09:43AM
I can understand your cast aluminum tooling plate for a machine that moved the bed in the Y plane or for a machine with a fixed bed like a delta, but I don't agree with it for a machine that would raise and lower the plate such as a CoreXY design. It would be too heavy compared to what else is out there.
August 03, 2016 11:56AM
Actually, you've got it completely upside down.