Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Just wanted to say Hi.

Posted by Rlewisrlou666 
Just wanted to say Hi.
October 15, 2016 06:15AM
Hi Guys and Girls,

I'm new to the building of 3D Printers but have watched them grow and have been amazed by what they can do.

I studied Games Design in Uni and did quite a bit of 3D modelling then but since haven't really touched any 3D modelling.

Life getting in the way and my main PC going bang and not having the funds to fix it.

I haven't started my build as of yet but I have the ordered the aluminium extrusions/motors/power supply and I will buy the rest when I have the money.

I'm going to be building mine on a CNC based design with a fixed build platform and a moving Gantry that carries the extruder.

It will hopefully have a build platform of around 400 x 400 x 500 with a dual extruder.

I'm having issues working out how to heat a bed of that size on the cheap and considering building a heated chamber to help it along.

I hope to learn loads from here.

Cheers Ryan.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/15/2016 06:56AM by Rlewisrlou666.
Re: Just wanted to say Hi.
October 15, 2016 10:22AM
Welcome to the forum.

Large (flat) heated beds of that size are indeed difficult to do on the cheap. The standard answer is aluminium tooling plate with a mains powered silicon heater. One way to get started is to postpone the heating until later and use a piece of sacrificial foam to print on. Because the nozzle will be set to penetrate into the foam a small amount, flatness becomes less critical too. You could probably build the bed carrier from mdf or plexi in this case.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/15/2016 10:22AM by JamesK.
October 15, 2016 12:57PM
Thanks for the reply JamesK

I have a sheet of 1.5mm Aluminium that I've been saving for a project. I'm was thinking of using that as a bed with a coating on it.
October 15, 2016 03:52PM
Rlewisrlou666
Thanks for the reply JamesK