Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Modular 3D Printer Project

Posted by AMCE 
Modular 3D Printer Project
October 16, 2016 03:02AM
Haven't looked, but I doubt that this is the first time it has been brought up.

I am an engineering student that is about to start work on a modular printer concept. I want to be able to create printer 'cartridges' that can be removed with minimal effort (Less than 3 connectors hopefully, perhaps a clip mechanism for the modules) and replaced with other 'cartridges.' Yes, I know, how original. But I don't feel like taking the easy way out and buying one that can do what I want it to do. <3

Also want to make the entire project printable and large (300mm cube) and super stable.

So I come with a few questions:
What fun ideas are there for cartridges? I was thinking of a PCB etcher (See PCB Drill and Etching for details).
What are some ways I could make it super adjustable but super sturdy/stable at the same time?
What other features could I add to concur those little faults that different printers have?

Happy printing~!!
~Audrey
Re: Modular 3D Printer Project
October 16, 2016 04:39AM
AMCE

Also want to make the entire project printable and large (300mm cube) and super stable.

Pick any one of the above and you may be successful.
October 16, 2016 04:14PM
What exactly to you mean by cartridge? a toolhead that can be switched easy? Can you put everything I one 2x10 connector. Tom Sanladrer (YT) has mentioned making one plug/connector for all his machine so he can swop different hotends incl cooling and z probe.

Q1: The cnc incl pcb drill needs a cnc frame and thats why you see so few "swappable toolsheads" on 3d printer frames. Lasers might be "fun" but are probably also better served on a cnc frame, not mentioning the whole trouble with fume extraction and safty. Multicolor toolheads are already in development, as are food extrusion, maybe pellet extrusion based on richraps groundwork could be worth a shot.