Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Favorite Power Supply?

Posted by ajsmcs 
Favorite Power Supply?
February 22, 2017 02:49PM
Good Afternoon!

I'm midway through a rebuild of a Techzone Huxley I started 6-7 years ago. I got partway through the cal process when different parts - including the board - started failing, I got tired of dealing with their customer service, and life got in the way, so I shelved it up until 2014, when I replaced I bought a RAMBo 1.1B to replace the monotronics, only to shelve it again (too busy) until 2 weeks ago.

After installing a brand new E3D-V6 and preparing to test the electronics, it's come to my attention that the original power supply is waaaaay too weak. (only 5A @12V) So I'll need a new one.

Any recommendations? I'm looking for specific products, in the 300W range.

Also, my background is in mechanical engineering, and while I do have hobbyist electrical experience, its only with low-power stuff like DIY guitar pedals and stuff like that. What I'm getting at is that I really do not feel comfortable hacking into and/or modifying PSU board components, so I'd prefer something that doesn't involve doing that.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Re: Favorite Power Supply?
February 22, 2017 03:01PM
I've had very good luck with this one from Amazon. It only fires up the fan when it needs to so it's not noisy all the time, and it's been working like a champ. I've got 2 running in 2 different printers, and it was very inexpensive option to start with.
February 22, 2017 04:07PM
The Rambo is capable of 24V. Maybe it's worth changing heated bed and extruder-heater and go that way?
February 22, 2017 09:57PM