Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Experiences with building and using the E3D Titan extruder (Bowden)

Posted by dlc60 
Experiences with building and using the E3D Titan extruder (Bowden)
September 24, 2017 09:27PM
What do the people out there think of the E3D titan geared extruder? I got the universal kit and sketched up my own Bowden adapter, I didn't think theirs was worth $16 just to make it a Bowden. My hack works fine.

I will start out the discussion. I got one of these a couple of weeks ago to replace my DIY geared extruder that was made of PLA because I wanted to enclose my printer for ABS printing. This is the geared extruder I have been using on my Folgertech Kossel 2020 for several months:
[www.thingiverse.com]
It is a 3.54:1 (more-or-less) extruder that works very well.

Build Impressions:
In a nutshell, meh.
I found the build instructions confusing, screws, spacers, washers, whatever. The section about Bowden seemed to forget that it was about the Bowden adapter, fortunately having built a geared Bowden extruder of my own, I was familiar with what needed to be done.
One really odd part of the build is the screw that goes through the large gear. There are no stops on this part of the build that prevent binding the large gear. If you tighten the screw down too far, the gear won't move, so you have to go by "feel" on how tight it should be.

Operation:
As usual, the steps/mm calculation is "ideal world", you still have to tune to your system to get is to work the way you want it. Which is cool, again, I had to do this with my DIY geared extruder; no matter how well you can use your calipers, it isn't quite what you think it is... This went without a hitch.