Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Poor print quality of gears

Posted by blueskiesresearch 
Poor print quality of gears
October 26, 2017 09:41AM
Hi all,

I've been trying to print some gears with a new Reprap Prusa i3 printer. The nozzle orifice diameter is 0.4mm. The print quality is really bad - the gears don't mesh at all.

I am new to 3d printing so can anyone advise if I should be able to print working gears with my setup and if so, where to start improving the quality of my prints?

Attached are photos of the gears I printed, and the .stl file in case anyone wants to try doing it themselves.

Thanks.
Attachments:
open | download - gears_bottom.jpg (349 KB)
open | download - gears_top.jpg (357 KB)
open | download - 90-degree_gear.stl (135.8 KB)
Re: Poor print quality of gears
October 26, 2017 01:47PM
Looks like you have some huge extrusion issues.
Shouldnt have any issues with that file

EDIT: After looking at the file in a slicer thats a terrible thing to try and print.
The part is very low polygon resolution and the teeth are very tiny and only last maybe 2-3 layers total.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/26/2017 01:50PM by Floyd.
October 26, 2017 06:08PM
blueskiesresearch
Hi all,

I've been trying to print some gears with a new Reprap Prusa i3 printer. The nozzle orifice diameter is 0.4mm. The print quality is really bad - the gears don't mesh at all.

I am new to 3d printing so can anyone advise if I should be able to print working gears with my setup and if so, where to start improving the quality of my prints?

Attached are photos of the gears I printed, and the .stl file in case anyone wants to try doing it themselves.

Thanks.

It looks like your infill is way too light and you don't have enough top/bottom layers. Oddly, it also looks like you are printing too hot and are underextruding as well.