Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Keep frying my board

Posted by Backdraft 
Keep frying my board
February 04, 2018 07:35AM
Hey there,

I've been using my Prusa for a couple of years now and some time ago it stopped responding. Noticed that the LED isn't lighting up anymore on the shield.
Thought nothing much of it and just bought a new arduino mega 2560 + shield. Once I hooked up the new board and powered on, I instantly noticed the smell of burnt electronics. I disconnected the power supply and felt around the board.
Noticed that around where the USB connector is located it was warmish. I disconnected the shield and tried to do a re-flash of Marlin on the Mega to see if it's still alive. The LED light up and it flashed ok. So I think it survived and something fried on the shield.

Haven't done any big changes to the printer for a long time. One probable culprit could be the switch that I built for one of the fans. I've been using it for quite a while without any problems. Here is the instruction I used to build the switch.
[www.instructables.com]

I tried firing up the board without the switch being connected. This didn't help. I also checked that the power supplies voltage was ok. Reading around 12.5v

Any ideas what could be burning the board. I'd like to get some pointers before I smoke a third one. Can it be a broken transistor in the fan switch? What else might cause this?

As a side note, if anyone has a schematic for a MOSFET fan control I'd appreciate it. I've read the TIP120 transistor that I'm using here isn't ideal because it draws more amps.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/04/2018 07:37AM by Backdraft.
Re: Keep frying my board
February 05, 2018 11:18PM