Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Converting Cheap 3D printer to Mega2560/Ramps1.4

Posted by Spiggles 
Converting Cheap 3D printer to Mega2560/Ramps1.4
March 07, 2018 11:34AM
Hello all. I am new to the community but I have been working with electronics and 3D printers for a few years.

I recently got a super cheap 3d printer from China. Cheap in price, but actually produced good prints. That is until a clogged hot end killed the stepper motor driver on the main logic board.

Long story short, I am going to replace all the electronics with a Mega2560 and Ramps 1.4 Shield. I think this is entirely doable. I am wondering if anyone else has done this and what things I should look out for?

There are two issues I can think of that may be sticking points. First is that the x-axis limit switch is reversed from my other printer (Prusa I3). Second, the z-axis limit uses an optical sensor mounted next to the hot end which I am not super familiar with.

I am new to the community though I have been printing for a while. I am guessing that both sticking points can be overcome in firmware, but I am curious if anyone else has done this, or if someone could point me to some online resources where people have done this.

Sorry if this is a "Dumb" question. I mostly just use my printer as a means to other ends and I don't think about it much until I need to, so I kind of have to re-learn everything when stuff goes wrong.
Re: Converting Cheap 3D printer to Mega2560/Ramps1.4
March 07, 2018 07:02PM
First thing to look out for, I'd say, is not to use ramps/mega. But yes, the rest is just a matter of tweaking the firmware.

EDIT: What firmware are you wanting to use? Marlin has good documentation if you look up their website and then the heading for what you're after (i.e. limit switches, z probes)

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/07/2018 07:04PM by Trakyan.
March 08, 2018 09:15AM
Ramps Mega is what I have experience with, any particular reason you don't recommend it?