Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Issues homing/calibrating Kossel Mini build

Posted by invariant11 
Issues homing/calibrating Kossel Mini build
August 17, 2018 02:32PM
Hello. I'm new to the RepRap forums and also to building 3D printers. Currently I'm trying my first build, a Kossel Mini. I have nearly everything assembled and I'm working on configuring Marlin and calibrating the printer. However, I'm finding a couple of issues and am hoping for some suggestions on where I can start troubleshooting.

The first, biggest issue for me is that homing fails. Through Pronterface, when I issue "G28," the three carriages begin to move upwards until they hit the endstops. When they hit the endstops, at least one of the motors keeps trying to rotate, resulting in kind of a grinding noise (though I don't think anything is actually being ground). After a couple of seconds it eventually stops and Marlin shows me an error and tells me to reset the printer.

I've tested the three endstops individually by checking the status from "M119" and manually triggering each endstop. They seem to work correctly, showing "open" when nothing is touching them, and showing "TRIGGERED" when I depress them.

I'm using Marlin 1.1.9 on a RAMPS 1.4 board, if that is relevant. Any ideas for where I can begin troubleshooting and identifying the source of the problem?

Thank you!
Re: Issues homing/calibrating Kossel Mini build
August 17, 2018 09:19PM
Normally this is due to having the X,Y, Z endstops on the wrong column (ie not on the column the appropriate X,Y or Z stepper is on)

So follow each stepper motor cable from the controller to the stepper and label it
Then follow each endstop back to to the controller, and verify each endstop is correct
August 19, 2018 03:50AM
Thank you! That helped!
September 06, 2018 05:27PM