Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Many headed monster

Posted by nophead 
Many headed monster
April 02, 2007 08:37AM
Hi,
I have been making my RepStrap machine for a couple of months now and it is starting to take shape. I decided this weekend to blog my progress at [www.hydraraptor.blogspot.com]. The blog is historical at the moment but I intend to catch up to real time with an article or two per day for the next week or so.

Chris
Re: Many headed monster
April 02, 2007 08:49AM
Great blog, nop! I love that watchmaker's lathe you have. :-)
April 02, 2007 09:14AM
Thanks Forrest,
The lathe was a lot nicer when my father had it! Foolishly I lent it to my brother-in-law who let it go rusty, broke some bits and lost others hot smiley. I had to clean it up for this project and I need to make a new tool post. The one in the picture is not the original which was a nce chromed thing.

I always planned to CNC it with some of the steppers I had collected but I have a better use for them now smiling smiley
April 03, 2007 08:24PM
Very nice. Could you mount a tool post as a head and have the lathe firmly positioned near by to be a multifunction device?.
April 04, 2007 04:17AM
Hi Bart,
Not a bad idea. I would have to mount the tool post on the XY table as the other heads only move in the vertical direction. Or I could mount the whole lathe and its motor on the XY table and the tool post on the Z. It might be just as easy to couple a pair of stepper motors to the cross slide of the lathe though.

For now the priority is to make a CNC mill to make the extruder body and the Darwin PCBs. My goal is to get to an additive machine as soon as possible so I don't want to get too sidelined with subtractive processes.

Chris
April 04, 2007 08:47PM
Cool. Just thought I'd add my $0.02 since you already had most of the stuff already.