Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Issues with Marlin on my Anet A8

Posted by choochooboy123 
Issues with Marlin on my Anet A8
January 30, 2019 10:21AM
Hi! I am very very new to printing, just got a printer a few days before posting this. I decided to install Marlin after watching a few videos and seeing some forums that recommend it over the stock firmware that comes with the printer. I had a few initial issues, like the stepper motors being inverted, but was easily able to fix those. Unfortunately, i cannot figure out a big issue. My z end stop switch is completely ignored. It worked before marlin, and even after digging around for hours i couldn't find a solution. Wondering if i could get some help?
Re: Issues with Marlin on my Anet A8
January 30, 2019 02:07PM
I'll assume that your X and Y endstops work. smiling smiley

The Z endstop is possibly a different type. I'm not familiar with the A8 myself, but assuming that you did not change the hardware, I thought that the A8 used a normally closed sensor for the Z axis.

there's a wiki page here: [3dprint.wiki]

It has some specific changes for your configuration in Marlin.

MBot3D Printer
MakerBot clone Kit from Amazon
Added heated bed.

Leadscrew self-built printer (in progress)
Duet Wifi, Precision Piezo parts
January 30, 2019 03:50PM
choochooboy123
Hi! I am very very new to printing, just got a printer a few days before posting this. I decided to install Marlin after watching a few videos and seeing some forums that recommend it over the stock firmware that comes with the printer. I had a few initial issues, like the stepper motors being inverted, but was easily able to fix those. Unfortunately, i cannot figure out a big issue. My z end stop switch is completely ignored. It worked before marlin, and even after digging around for hours i couldn't find a solution. Wondering if i could get some help?