Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Log says "temperature sensor defect"

Posted by dxnvrmx 
Log says "temperature sensor defect"
March 09, 2019 04:49PM
First of all, hello RepRap community. I'm new to the 3D printer community and I wanted to ask if somebody could help me with a problem that occured today.
I bought a German RepRap NEO from a schoolfriend and tested it. It worked perfectly fine until today.
When I wanted to start a 3D print, the log said: "temp. sensor defect", and it would "start" to print but no filament came out of the extruder.
So I assume that the extruder just doesnt warm up because the filament wouldn't even get pulled in.
Because of that I began to search how I could fix it but I couldnt really find anything useful.

But I think I might have found a possible solution, do I have to just replace the heatingblock which sits right above the extruder or is the temperature sensor located else where?
And if so, which part do I have to replace and where can I order it? I'd be very happy if someone could help me because I really want to print again asapsmiling smiley.

Regards

Btw. this is the heatingblock which is above the extruder https://www.germanreprap.com/webshop/ersatzteilezubehoer/100456.aspx]the heatingblock I mentioned[/url]

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/09/2019 04:50PM by dxnvrmx.
Re: Log says "temperature sensor defect"
March 12, 2019 10:34AM
With this info, there are some holes that need filled in.
  1. First off, is the extruder even reaching temperature? Can you take a bit of filament and press it up against the block while “heated” and have it melt?
  2. Does the thermistor report a real temperature? Does it hover somewhere around 23 degrees Celsius (room temperature) or is it something like -14? (if so, then the thermistor is not connected to the board)
  3. When you begin “printing”, is the extruder block spinning (this is the part with the stepper motor) even though there is nothing coming out?