Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Self made Delta duet 3d, dimensional accuracy problem :O

Posted by Rox93 
Self made Delta duet 3d, dimensional accuracy problem :O
March 11, 2019 10:58AM
Hi everybody, i made myself this delta 3d printer (check image) but i am having troubles with dimensional accuracy, i have print a lot of xyz calibration cubes with cool results (sometimes 20*20*20 perfect, sometimes +- 0.04) but in some models in particular when i have a extrusion hole in the print it get a lot smaller then it should be, and maybe the perimeter of the print its good in dimension, not perfect but still +-0,2 mm on a 40mm print

and sometimes on bigger models i get a nice accuray, this printer its new so i havent done a lot of them, still in supertesting mood.

actually i did a lot of test and changes but i am not really good with the software since this is my first reprap and first delta ever, electronic its full duet and its pretty new to me, need to get more used. so what i am asking is, is there any test/print test/software test i can do to find where is the error that make this printer going so bad? or anybody got problems like this and know how to overcome it?

Thank you everybody for your help
Attachments:
open | download - 54278568_372525343589315_3775028364851544064_n.jpg (195.1 KB)
open | download - 53743369_1525689624233689_3767314899940671488_n.jpg (223.8 KB)
Re: Self made Delta duet 3d, dimensional accuracy problem :O
March 11, 2019 12:12PM
holes in 3d prints have to be designed correctly in the cad, or they always turn out to small.

The issue is that a circle is an approximation with a polygon... now if your cad puts the polygon inside the circle (which most do) of the requested diameter, the result is to small.

eg

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 03/11/2019 12:18PM by Dust.
March 11, 2019 12:34PM
This seems to be inherent with the .STL file layout, in that it does things as polygons without arcs.