Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Z-Axis jut falling down

Posted by Humbucker007 
Z-Axis jut falling down
April 20, 2019 05:12PM
Hello,
I'm new to the diy-3D printer world and currently building a printer out of an old "pen an paper plotter".
I've got everything set up so far (Motors, Endstops, etc) and wanted to run some tests today. However, I ran into a major issue:
I can move an home my z axis just fine and even when lifted up it says in it's position. However, when I home any axis except the z axis, the software crashes in the following way:

The printer lifts up the z axis, does some weird noises, but does not really move the other axis and then just powered of the z stepper. This makes the y axis fall down in it's min position and the software crash.
The same happens, when I start a print.
Due to the software crashing it's unusable.
I already tried going into config.adv and disabling the standby/turn of of the y stepper, but it's still happening.

Here is a little video of me "homing" the printer:
[youtu.be]

Hopefully someone can help me.
Greetings
Humbucker

Edit1: Please excuse me, I have forgotten to inforne you about my controller: It's an Arduino mega/Ramos 1.4 set up running Marlin with mechanical min Endstops switches.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/20/2019 05:20PM by Humbucker007.
Re: Z-Axis jut falling down
April 22, 2019 08:57AM
Did you wire the endstep shorting out 5V to ground? That would cause a reset on the arduino (and may cause damage). Check the position of the end stop position on the connector. Check the board pinouts and orientation.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 04/22/2019 09:01AM by imqqmi.

--
Kind regards
Imqqmi

NFAN CoreXY printer:
[reprap.org]
Re: Z-Axis jut falling down
May 16, 2019 02:58AM
Have you tried just running the Z axis steppers?