Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Rumba controller board

Posted by JackDaniels 
Rumba controller board
May 28, 2019 11:52AM
Hi all,

I am very new to the RepRap community and have a couple of questions relating to a conversion I am trying to complete.

I am one of the unfortunate ones that purchased a Cubex Duo 5 years ago - I say this as a lot of people have given it bad reviews and with some just cause.
Over the past 5 years, I have changed over the software and completed many over mods to make the printer better and with great results but this machine has now died, both heads and main board now scrap.

So reading lots on these conversions I have started down the path of new electronics including a Hotbed.

I have purchased a Rumba board and 6x A4988 drivers and from what I have read my main problem is split into two questions;

1) The Z axis has a Nema 23 - 2.2v - 3.0A stepper and the A4988 can only drive up to 2.0A. Can anyone give me any suggestions for this problem (DRV8825 ?) or have they done this conversion?

2) The Y axis has a twin drive - Nema 17 - 2.8v - 1.68A steppers.
After looking around someone suggested stacking two A4988 drivers but I have found an expansion board (stepper driver extender A4988 DRV8825 extension stepper driver panel additional motor adapter breakout board drive expander).
From what I can make out this board would allow me to run two drivers simultaneously, one for each stepper.
Would this be correct or has anyone tried one of these?

Any help would be most appreciated. smiling smiley
Re: Rumba controller board
May 30, 2019 06:11AM
The RUMBAs six driver slots make it easy to configure a second driver for an axis. In most firmwares you just have to enable this for the specific axis and select which driver slot serves the second motor.
In Repetier look for FEATURE_TWO_YSTEPPER
In Marlin look for Y_DUAL_STEPPER_DRIVERS

[www.bonkers.de]
[merlin-hotend.de]
[www.hackerspace-ffm.de]
May 30, 2019 07:18AM
Thanks for that.