Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

A complete newbie would like some help please

Posted by MrGlenn 
A complete newbie would like some help please
June 15, 2021 12:22PM
Hello.

I am very new to 3d printing. My family just gave me an AA+inks 2017 Upgraded Full Quality High Precision Reprap Prusa i3 DIY 3d Printer for my birthday. I have assembled it and checked it all. At first I tried to 'PRINT FROM SD CARD' but it didnt recognise the card. I tried to print direct from the PC using the USB cable, but that never worked either. I bought a brand new SD (32Gcool smiley Card and formatted it as FAT 32. I copied the file to it (UMS5_#3DBenchy - Multi-part - Single - Cargo box - (3DBenchy.com).ufp). Every time I try to "PRINT FROM SD CARD" it keeps saying "SYSTEM VOLUME INFO" and I can do no more.

Can anyone help me please?

Many thanks from a frustrated old geezer
Re: A complete newbie would like some help please
June 15, 2021 02:52PM
Everything seen shows using an 8GB SD card, I have only used 2GB Card on my 3D Printers an never had any problems.

Did have problems using larger SD Card sizes.

Computer Programmer / Electronics Technician
June 16, 2021 02:30AM
WoW, I never thought about card size! There wasn't one included with the parts and I dont remember seeing any reference to size. many thanks for your reply, I'll be buying a smaller one when the shops open.
June 16, 2021 06:09AM
Well, that doesn't work either. I managed to obtain a 2GB card (used), formatted it (FAT32), but still I can only get it to say "SYSTEM VOLUME INFO". This is looking like I might have to inform my family thanks for the useless birthday present! I have sent e-mail to the makers (zhuhaictc) but so far no reply after 3 days. And so far only the above piece of help from the forum. Fast running out of ideas and getting jolly disappointed!
June 16, 2021 07:55AM
Don't give up just because your first Post reply, was not the solution.