Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Building Large Format Printer - 5ft x 5ft - Help Welcomed!

Posted by TigerDang 
Building Large Format Printer - 5ft x 5ft - Help Welcomed!
December 11, 2021 09:54PM
Hello everyone, new user here. I am also fairly new to 3D Printing in general.

I am digging into 3D printing for the main reason of learning how to build these machines, in hopes that one day i can build one big to build myself my dream home (using a limestone mix/free & abundant materials), and from there teach others how to do the same. I'm thinking in 10 years it will be entirely possible, and it will be way faster than the traditional method of slaving my life away and still never owning a home.

I figured I'd start small, and scale it up a little bit at a time. My plan for this next couple months, with a lot of help, is to build my first large-format printer.

Plan is to follow this guy's build and scale it up just a little to 5ftx5ft, maybe even 10ft x 10ft. But before i go spending my limited budget, i figured it's best to check with the experts (that's you RepRappers).

[www.youtube.com]

Now, let me reiterate the fact that i am new to 3D printing in general, so please excuse my lack of expertise; assume i know nothing. I got into it a year ago because RC Cars is an expensive hobby, and figured it's faster and cheaper to make my own replacement parts and mods. I basically just want to scale this up to be able to mod my actual truck this upcoming year (my beloved land cruiser), rather than just mod a miniature version of it. Until this month all i had was a $100 used ender 3 pro that i got from offerup (worked for a few months).