Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Editing Firmware for Prusa i3 variant Printer

Posted by hunterdoom 
Editing Firmware for Prusa i3 variant Printer
May 15, 2016 02:11PM
Hello everyone.

Printer being used: Hictop Prusa i3

Recently I've been wanting to edit my firmware to test out the x-y jerk/acceleration, however, I am still new in how to edit the microcontroller for 3D printers. My biggest issue is the number of different variants of the Prusa i3 series and I don't know what firmware I am suppose to look for and be able to edit and upload to my printer.

So my biggest questions are:

1) Do all prusa i3 variants use the same code to print (cpp, hex, h, etc)?
2) Where can I get my specific printers code?
3) For those using MatterControl, is the EEPROM window not able to change the settings on the microcontroller? I can't get the program to save any changes and every time I reopen the window, the settings still show all 0 (zeros).

Any help would be appreciated, been trying to solve warped edges and shifted layers during midprint.

Thank you

Hunterdoom
Re: Editing Firmware for Prusa i3 variant Printer
May 16, 2016 09:58AM
Hi Hunter,

In an effort to give you some kind of reply if only to help you look in the right places smiling smiley

I have a no name Prusa i3 which I built from a kit, the firmware (Marlin) it used was initially set up by the guy that sold me the kit.

Marlin is available from github but it requires specific configuration.h to compile for your specific printer setup (examples in the repository).

I got hold of my configuration.h file from my vendor and was then able to update to the latest firmware from Marlin and change some parameters. Note that I am a full time C++ developer and coding is natural to me so I was able to fix errors that occurred when doing this.

I note that HIC printers use Marlin also and so you might want to look for the up-to-date config