Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Migbot Prusa i3 Unofficial Support Thread

Posted by jcabrer 
Re: Migbot Prusa i3 Unofficial Support Thread
May 23, 2015 03:57PM
C15 is a capacitor. Unfortunately, the MKS Base is not Open Source Hardware, so there is no info on value for the cap
May 23, 2015 05:55PM
gatorNic
Can any of you snap a closer/better photo of the spot I circled? Its location 'L3'. Its the part that burnt out and if I identify it might be able to solder on a new one. long shot, but parts of the board are still working since when I hook up power I am still getting the lcd working which is showing the temps. Thanks

It's near impossible to get a good picture of a black part on a black PCB. There's no markings on L3 anyway.

Disclaimer: I'm a hobbyist, not an EE. Everything below is probably wrong.

L denotes an inductor and, judging from its placement between the USB connector and FTDI chip, it's a ferrite bead. It's probably rated at 500mA. I'd test the fuse at F2; you might have blown it too. I think you're lucky that the board took the hit and not your USB port. Did you run the printer without AC power connected? Is your power supply outputting significantly more than 12V? If neither, then there's likely a problem with the board, and even if you replace the blown components, it's likely to happen again unless you find the real problem.

If your power supply checks out, and if you weren't running the printer off USB-only power, I'd try to get a replacement. Sorry, man.

Edited 4 time(s). Last edit at 05/23/2015 09:18PM by Invictus.
May 23, 2015 09:35PM
Invictus
I'm assuming your proximity sensor is mounted correctly (the one in the picture is upside down).

The instructions included with the printer that tell you to mount the proximity sensor 2mm higher than the extruder tip don't match the Z probe offset in the firmware. The probe should actually be < 1mm higher than the tip of the extruder.

Here's how I got mine properly setup: