Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Folgertech Prusa I3 : X axis movement problem

Posted by CraigMoberg 
Folgertech Prusa I3 : X axis movement problem
May 19, 2015 02:01AM
I'm new to 3d printing, and this is my first build. I'm building the Prusa I3 from Folgertech, and having a problem with getting the X axis to move normally. Has anyone encountered this problem?

What's happening most often is that when I try to home the X axis, the carriage lurches a few centimeters then stops, usually with a start-stop-start motion, and the motor whines after stopping, until I do an emergency stop. When I try to move it RIGHT, every command from 0.1mm to 50mm moves it less than a mm. When I try to move it LEFT, 0.1mm moves it about 1mm, 1mm moves it about 10mm, 10mm moves it 2-3 cm, and 50 makes it do the start-stop-start lurch with whining. It seems odd that there would be such a difference in behavior moving left vs. right.

Or sometimes the X axis fails to respond at all, but the motor may whine until I give it another command. I don't see "endstop hit" in the log while doing any of this, just "ok".

The other axes are responding to commands normally.

I switched the X motor with a known good motor, then also switched out the stepper driver, and motor cable. The problem continued with each change. I think the belt tension is fine. I can move the carriage manually very smoothly. I've tried reversing the direction the motor cable is plugged into the RAMPS board, but that only reversed the direction of the funky behavior.

This happens even with the firmware downloaded from Folgertech's Google drive, with no changes, so I know it's not from a change I made. I'm using Repetier Host.

So it's not the motor, it's not the motor cable, it's not the stepper driver. What else could be the problem? Could it be a bad RAMPS or Arduino board?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/19/2015 03:09AM by CraigMoberg.
Re: Folgertech Prusa I3 : X axis movement problem