Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Folger Tech 2020 i3 Printer Kit (Official Thread)

Posted by Dan_FolgerTech 
Re: Folger Tech 2020 i3 Printer Kit (Official Thread)
April 12, 2016 09:45AM
thanks for the feedback, just wanted to see if the info i was give was true or not. I hadn't see anyone talk about it so it leaves one wondering?
April 12, 2016 10:02AM
Mopar99
thanks for the feedback, just wanted to see if the info i was give was true or not. I hadn't see anyone talk about it so it leaves one wondering?

I have a E3D v6 clone with an upgraded fully metal heat break. When I originally installed the Extruder I seasoned it with some PLA filament and some oil. I dipped the filament in the oil, pushed it through the hotend, and then pushed a clean piece of filament through. I repeated this a couple times. Since then I haven't seasoned it and I've been printing great for the past two months. I cant really say if it made that much of a difference or not but why not try it?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/12/2016 12:42PM by Keary123.
April 12, 2016 10:14AM
Mopar99
question: does anyone season their Hotend's? like dab some olive oil on filament before they print?

I've put a few drops of light oil in the sponge of my filament filter, but honestly haven't noticed any difference....
April 13, 2016 05:18PM
After 6 months of printing EVERYTHING under the sun for the Grand kids and the 'boss', I finally got around to printing a Benchy. Used 0.3 layer height, 190 degrees, Hatchbox brown PLA, 0.85 extrusion multiplier to give me single wall of 0.48 mm as called for in the GCode. Looks pretty good!

Folger Tech 2020 i3 and FT-5 as well as modified JGAurora A5 with direct drive E3D/Titan. All running the BLTOUCH.
Great kits. Having fun and running the heck out of them.
Running Marlin 1.1.0 RC8 on the i3 and FT5. Custom firmware on A5.
Folger Tech Wiki board >[folgertech.wikia.com]
April 14, 2016 10:01AM